Healthy Eating Guidelines

What are the 4 main healthy eating guidelines?

In addition to meeting your nutritional needs, a healthy diet can help you manage your weight and reduce your risk of health problems such as heart disease, type 2 diabetes and certain cancers. It can also help you feel better and live longer.

1. Eat a variety of foods from all 5 major food groups to get the nutrients you need.

The key to eating a healthy diet is to make sure that you are getting enough vitamins, minerals and fibre from all the different foods you eat. This can be done through a balanced meal plan that includes plenty of fruits, vegetables, whole grains and lean protein.

2. Choose meals and snacks that have less than 10 percent of calories from added sugars, saturated fat and sodium.

3. Drink water instead of a sugary drink or soft drink (like soda).

4. Choose low-fat, unsweetened milk and other dairy products over full-fat versions.

5. Have a portion of fruit or veg with every meal and snack.

6. Replace processed foods with real food whenever possible.

7. Eating more fresh, whole, minimally processed and minimally added foods helps you avoid some of the most common food-related health problems.

8. Choose foods and drinks that are high in fibre and lower in sugars, salt and saturated fat.

9. Add fiber to your meals and snacks by eating more fruits, vegetables, whole grains and legumes.

10. Include fish, lean meats and poultry, eggs and nuts as part of a healthy diet.

11. Include more whole grains, particularly those that are high in fibre such as oatmeal, brown rice and quinoa.

12. Use olive and canola oils to cook with instead of butter or margarine.

13. Choose lean sources of protein, such as seafood, poultry, beans and peas, nuts and seeds, and lentils.

14. Limit or eliminate red meat and processed meats in your diet.

15. Choose low-fat or fat-free milk and milk products, such as milk, yogurt, cheese, and fortified soy beverages.

16. Keep total fat intake between 30 to 35 percent of your daily calories for children 2 to 3 years of age and between 25 to 35 percent of your daily calories for children 4 to 18 years of age, with most fat coming from sources of polyunsaturated and monounsaturated fatty acids, such as fish, nuts and vegetable oils.

17. Consume more vegetables, especially dark-green and red and orange vegetables, as well as beans and peas.

18. Increase consumption of whole grain foods, such as whole wheat breads and cereals, rice, pasta, and oats.

19. Limit or eliminate refined grains, such as refined white breads and white flour products.

20 Conclusion: The Dietary Guidelines for Americans recommend that people eat a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, legumes, fish and poultry, and low in fat, saturated and trans fats. It also suggests that individuals limit calorie intake, increase physical activity and limit sodium intake.



Social Media

Most Popular

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

No spam, notifications only about new products, updates.


On Key

Related Posts